Apache-Talk @lexa.ru 

Inet-Admins @info.east.ru 

Filmscanners @halftone.co.uk 

Security-alerts @yandex-team.ru 

nginx-ru @sysoev.ru 




      :: Filmscanners
Filmscanners mailing list archive (filmscanners@halftone.co.uk)

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[filmscanners] Re: Trying to track down a problem


I have not received anything like this from the filmscanners list, or
from you.  I have, however received at least one message, recently, from
a local individual that was several years old - similar, I think, to
what you described.  I called the individual to help troubleshoot the
problem and the first thing I found was that his antivirus had not been
working for quite some time.  He was getting a message from McAfee
stating that he needed to "verify" his account and decided it was just
another attempt by CA to sell him something.  I hear this a lot (verify
your account) from McAfee  subscribers, lately.  Most of these
individuals are in their eighties and did not warm up to the computer
age until the mid to late nineties, or later.  About the only time they
call me is when they encounter a "Blue Screen" or something else that
stops their computer from functioning.  I have started recommending that
they cancel their McAfee account and download one of the free antivirus
application, such as AVG.

I don't know what is causing these strange e-mailings, unless it's a
worm.  I do not believe this is occurrence is unique.


Arthur Entlich wrote:
> I just received a rather unusual email, and am asking anyone who might
> have been similarly involved to please email me.
> On March 31st I sent a posting to this list under the thread
> [filmscanners] Re: spam magnet, which was posted to the group at 2:41 AM.
>  I recently received an email from someone who I was in correspondence
> with over 4 years ago (one time) who sent me a copy of that posting
> which he indicated he had just received as a personal email from the
> email address I sent the posting from.  I have emailed him to ask him if
> he was ever a member of the filmscanner list, and for the message source
> header information, which I am waiting to see, but in the meantime, if
> anyone else on this list has received an unsolicited email from me
> coming from my email account, rather than this list (that would be from
> artistik(at)shaw(dot)com), please email me, if possible, with the full
> header., so I can try to determine what is going on.
> Some very strange things are happening of late, and I need to try to
> resolve this.
> Thank you.
> Art

Unsubscribe by mail to listserver@halftone.co.uk, with 'unsubscribe 
or 'unsubscribe filmscanners_digest' (as appropriate) in the message title or 


Copyright © Lexa Software, 1996-2009.